If you are a Techie, this is the best platform to showcase your Personal Brand

If you are a Techie, this is the best platform to showcase your Personal Brand

ยท

5 min read

If you are a part of the tech industry or if you are aspiring to start a career as a software professional, you are required to have some proof of work to showcase that you are capable of working on industry-level projects. For example, I work as a full-stack developer. I have a web portfolio, a few projects (web applications) and a couple of technical blogs to represent my capability to a potential recruiter.

Until recently, I used to collate these resources separately and add their respective links on my resume and share them with the recruiters whenever they asked for my profile. However, we all know the truth that "6 seconds is the average time spent reading a resume ๐ŸŒ". Thus, most of them would never click on the projects/blogs link to read more about my work.

mundane task

I saw a lot of the folks sharing their work on LinkedIn posts. This seemed like a good way to present my work to a wider network. Although, this had a problem with visibility. Most of my posts would reach only my LinkedIn connections and not the recruiter who had just reached out to me. I had to repeat the process of sharing these links with the recruiter.

When I was trying to find alternative ways to share my proof of work, I came across Peerlist!

i am elated

What is Peerlist?

Peerlist is a community of working professionals focused on building a personal brand, sharing professional content, and finding peers to connect & collaborate with based on their projects, mutual skills, and interests.

They worked on the exact problem that I was facing.

Information on your work profiles and resumes is disorganized, hard to spot, and spread across the internet. Which makes it difficult for your peers and recruiters to discover and interpret you. Peerlist makes it easy by creating a single and most meaningful work profile!

Peerlist is the brainchild of Yogini Bende and Akash Bhadange. An awesome fact that I love about the 2 co-founders is that they are a developer-designer couple who started working on Peerlist as a side project (this is what tech couples do on all their weekends ๐Ÿ˜›) and launched the startup in 2021.

My Peerlist Profile

I have been a part of Peerlist since then and have been closely following all their updates. You can check out my Peerlist profile.

profile.png

Peerlist's journey

In the initial phase, they created an invite-based user acquisition. (I was one of them ๐Ÿ˜„). Peerlist started as "one place to showcase all your Proof of Work.

You could customize your profile by including:

  • Link to your portfolio site
  • GitHub Contributions
  • List of GitHub Repositories
  • A separate section to showcase the list of projects with their description. (In case they are not a part of GitHub)
  • Blogs maintained on various platforms such as Hashnode and Dev.to

  • Recently, they have added the support to include RSS feeds such that the blogs posted on our personal websites could also be showcased on your Peerlist profile.

  • If you're someone who writes newsletters, you can link your substack too. Similarly, a designer could bring in their dribble data on Peerlist. You can add your resume or even sync the data from LinkedIn. If you are a part of Peerlist by now, I am sure you would appreciate the power of this platform over the currently existing ones ๐Ÿคญ. Especially the top-notch UI/UX of the web application which is constantly under the supervision of Akash's amazing designer ability.

offerings.png

  • On May 24th, 2022, they launched Peerlist on Product Hunt and bagged the #1 spot with more than 1000 upvotes on the same day! ๐Ÿค— Subsequently, they brought the integration of Product Hunt on Peerlist.

productHunt.png

  • Peerlist Mindset was launched. It is a series of conversations exclusively for the Peerlist community where we will be talking to leaders from different industries about engineering, design, leadership, career advice, and everything around! I vividly remember attending a session by Mark Erikson (creator of Redux Toolkit). I was awestruck by every topic discussed in this session. It was the best session I have ever attended. Very well organized by Peerlist. ๐Ÿ‘ You can watch the session recording here

  • Jobs section to choose the best opportunity suitable to your needs. There are a variety of filers to shortlist your requirement. You can save them for later or even track the applications that you have applied. This feature has been made very meticulously. โœŒ๏ธ

  • They introduced Peerlist Hire in August 2022 to make it easier for recruiters to find an abundance of talent in one place. If you are hiring, you can follow the updates on Peerlist Hire. Yes, Peerlist is for both Individuals as well as Recruiters ๐Ÿ˜

Further, they have come up with a Peerlist Scroll feature to share your work with the Peerlist community. This helps you connect with like-minded people and grow your network. What makes this feature stand out from others, is the way the posts are published, here the context of the post matters more than the content that helps to reduce the clutter in your feed.

The Peerlist team constantly keeps you (the consumers) updated with what's new in Peerlist by sending out a monthly email. I like their approach of sending out monthly updates and not spamming every week ๐Ÿ˜Ž. They have a blog page too!

are you convinced?

If you still haven't created your profile on Peerlist, I hope this article has convinced you to create one right away. The best thing is, that you can get your custom profile URL with your favorite username by publishing your completed profile! ๐Ÿš€ (username subject to availability). If you have liked my article, don't forget to follow me on Peerlist. I would appreciate it if you could give this post a like (with your favorite emoji ๐Ÿ˜).

Writing this article to look back on how much these folks have achieved in a such short time.

Cheers to Peerlist on their first anniversary โค๏ธ Wish you many more years of success! ๐Ÿฅ‚